The original version of this document is located at https://docs.qfield.org/get-started/tutorials/advanced-setup-qfc
Currently, QFieldCloud supports GeoPackage and PostGIS layers for collaborative editing.
Other formats supported by QGIS should also work but are not officially supported.
When working with QFieldCloud, it is important to understand the synchronization process to avoid data loss or overwriting files and deltas.
You can find technical details on the different job types in the technical documentation section.
In simple words, three different synchronization activities exist:

Tip
We recommend following these guidelines to avoid synchronization issues or overwritten data:
When configuring a project for QField, choose between different packaging options:
In general, changes become visible to other users once synchronization via QFieldCloud occurs across devices.
If you are working in Offline Editing mode a local copy is created, advanced PostGIS operations (such as triggers) will not be available in QField.
Find more information in the QFieldCloud technical reference.
Using GeoPackages is usually the best choice for a simple setup to centralize data collected by your QField users into a single file.
If you set up a relation, add a UUID field and use it as the primary or foreign key.
Do not use the default fid field for relations as a primary or foreign key.
The fid field can be modified during synchronization with QFieldCloud and lead to errors over time.
A UUID is unique and will not cause conflicts during synchronization.
Workflow
🖥️ Desktop preparation

📱 Fieldwork
🖥️ Desktop preparation
Warning
We do not recommend editing or adding new data directly from QGIS while field work is ongoing.
Every time QGIS synchronizes the project to QFieldCloud, the entire GeoPackage replaces the cloud version, whereas QField updates only the actual changes.
Using PostGIS is a good choice if your data must be visible and editable for multiple users.
It requires your database to be publicly accessible, and credentials must be saved unencrypted in the QGIS project file.
Please consider the security implications of these requirements and maintain regular backups.
Access to the database can be saved and made available for QFieldCloud in two ways:
Workflow
🖥️ Desktop preparation
127.0.0.1 or localhost).📱 Fieldwork
🖥️ Desktop preparation
Note
When using direct database access, QField edits data directly in the PostGIS database.
This option requires a reliable internet connection in the field, but allows all users to view edits immediately and utilize PostGIS setup features (such as triggers and generated fields).
Note
When using Offline Editing, QField works on a local copy of the database in a GeoPackage, which QFieldCloud syncronizes to the original database upon synchronization.
We recommend using offline editing to avoid data loss during connection drops.
Changes become visible to other users only after synchronization occurs across devices.
Advanced PostGIS operations (such as triggers) are unavailable on local GeoPackage copies in QField.
Find more information in the QFieldCloud technical reference.
To prevent modifications to the core QGIS project file, project administrators can restrict access to these files in QFieldCloud.
Workflow

Once enabled, only administrators and managers can push changes to restricted files.
Other project collaborators can still upload and modify project datasets (such as GeoPackages), but cannot alter the main project file or its core components.
When enabled, the following files can only be modified or uploaded by a user with an Admin or Manager role:
my_project.qgz)my_project_attachments.zip)my_project.qgd).qml) that share the same name as the project fileWhen working in a collaborative environment with multiple users accessing the same project, two users might modify the same feature during fieldwork.
In your project settings page, choose whether QFieldCloud applies the last wins policy or flags conflicts for project managers to resolve manually.

Read more on how QFieldCloud handles conflicts in the technical documentation.
To receive notifications about activity in your teams and projects, activate the email notification option in QFieldCloud.
Workflow

You can receive notifications for the following events:
You only receive notifications for actions initiated by other organization members or project collaborators.
We recommend using the Optimized Packager over the deprecated QGIS Core Offline Editing packager for all projects.
Explanation
Unlike the GIS Core Offline Editing packager, the Optimized Packager consolidates filtered layers originating from the same data source into a single offline layer.
This preserves distinct symbologies while using less storage.
For example, if you set multiple filters on your project layers, older packagers downloaded the entire layer multiple times before applying filters locally.
With the Optimized Packager, filters are applied during the server packaging job, reducing download sizes.
Consider this example configuration:
layers.gpkglayer1id % 2 = 1layers.gpkglayer1id % 2 = 0Result:
layer1 with specified filters applied.id % 2 = 1id % 2 = 0
Note
Configure this setting on the Settings page of each project in QFieldCloud.
If your project contains photos, documents, or other attachments, configure your QGIS project to ensure files download to your QField device.
Workflow
Example
If you use pictures for symbology stored in a folder named assets inside your project home directory, add assets to the attachment directories list.

QField and QFieldSync connect to the default QFieldCloud service at app.qfield.cloud.
Modify the default server address in QField and QFieldSync if using a custom deployment:
Workflow


Note
QField remembers the last entered server URL for future sessions.
QFieldSync does not support opening the same cloud project across multiple QGIS profiles.
Use a single QGIS profile for your QFieldCloud projects to prevent synchronization issues.